Hacked

on

The only light in the room was coming off of a computer screen in the back of the lab. There were two girls lost in its contents. The only noise for a long time was the clicking of keys and the mouse.

“This is taking forever.” The younger of the two girls standing behind the desk broke the silence.

“Well you’re more than welcome to pull up a chair and try it yourself.” The girl working at the computer didn’t give her a second look. “We both know that is how you got us into this mess in the first place.”

“That’s just not fair. You know I didn’t mean for this to happen.” She leaned on the back of the chair and hung her head in defeat. “I don’t know how many times I have to say I’m sorry.”

“As many as you like, but until this is over, it isn’t going to make any difference. Now let me concentrate.” She brushed off the girl’s worry as she continued typing and clicking different things.

The girls remained silent for a little while. The younger girl anxiously kept checking her watch.

“How much longer is this going to take? I don’t think we can be in here for much longer without being noticed.”

“It’s going to take as long as it takes. The more you bother me the more time I will need. So just shush!”

“Sorry.” The younger girl mumbled under her breath.

“Here we go. Now I’m getting somewhere.” She quickened her typing. “I’m in!”

Her hands were a furious blur as she was entering codes and trying to hack her way into the system.

“Just a few more…” She tapered off as she saw someone else in the system. “No! No no no!”

“What’s happening? Did you do it?”

The older girl ignored her and began typing even faster.

“Oh this guy is good! I thought he had me for a minute there.” She chuckled and let out a sigh of relief without a break in her typing. She was still slamming down on the keys as if it was the only thing between her and her freedom.

“So what happened?” The younger one was radiating fear and concern.

“I’m better. That’s what happened.”

Leave a Reply

