Sidestep

I woke up to the sound of every alarm going off in my pod followed by the intense pounding inside my head. I instinctively reached up to feel where the pain was originating and my finger tips came back with a deep glossy red coating. I knew I was in trouble.

I tried sitting up, which only caused my head to scream out even more, but I knew I didn’t have a choice. I had to assess my situation, come up with a plan of action, then carry out that plan. That had been ingrained in my head since day one, but talking about doing something and actually doing it were completely different things. I was quickly realizing this for myself.

I popped open the lid of the pod and sluggishly pulled myself out. The pod was about 6 feet long and 3 feet wide. It was only 2 feet deep, so thankfully it didn’t take a lot of effort to crawl out of it. I just stood up and stepped out. I was suppose to land in the same time and place as where I left from, but everything was much darker than it should have been. I took a quick look around, but couldn’t see much. I had no idea what my immediate surrounding were, making me incredibly uneasy. I didn’t know what to be ready for, but this was not something I planned on.

Taking a deep breath, I closed my eyes and sat down next to the pod. I already knew things were off. Between me having a head injury and the time of day being different, something went wrong. I was just hoping that I would eventually be able to get home.

I leaned back and felt the cool solid pod behind me. It gave me a moment of comfort knowing that I knew I wasn’t completely left out in the open, but the pod would take at least three months to recharge. I wasn’t going anywhere for a little while.

I opened my eyes and gasped. Above me in a little slit  was a perfect orange moon. It looked close enough that I could touch it. Surrounding that was a sea of stars. I could see them forming galaxies and clusters. I could also see a string of other larger planets. It was like nothing I had ever seen before. I just sat there looking at the sky.

I had to take a lot of astronomy classes before my trip. I took classes of past star maps and constellation placements so I would always know where I was at, even in another time, but the stars and constellations I saw above me didn’t match anything I knew. It didn’t make sense.

I was still processing what was happening when I saw a purple beam of light shoot across the darkness. I didn’t know what it was, but I knew I didn’t want to wait for it to come to me. I crawled to the other side of the pod and ducked behind it.

I didn’t know where I was or when I was, but I knew I was in trouble.

 

 

Leave a Reply

