Morning Walk

She showed up at his door, soaking wet, bruised, and covered in glitter.

“What happened to you?!”

“I got in a fight with Tinkerbell,” she said stepping inside, “and I lost.”

“Well that sounds like quite the story.” He left the room for a moment and returned with a towel. “Care to share the rest of it?”

They walked into the kitchen and he got her a glass of water. She began patting herself down with the towel transferring as much water as she could from her clothing.

“I don’t even know where to begin.” She said slouching in a chair after giving up with her clothes. She wrapped the towel around her head and leaned back. “One second I was walking to work, and the next I was in a crowd of people arguing and fighting. I was ruffed up a little bit by someone and thrown against a wall, but mostly I was ok. I made my way to the edge of the crowd trying to get away, but then someone started dumping water on us. I think it was someone living in the building.” She shifted in her seat and readjusted the towel. “I think they did that to try and break up whatever was happening, but it didn’t really work that way. A few people left, me included.”

“Wow… that’s really weird.” He was scratching his head. She could see the wheels turning in his head. “But why was there a rowdy group of people wandering the streets? And you still haven’t gotten to the glitter part. Why are you covered in glitter? He moved from standing at the counter to sitting across from her at the table.

“Patience. I’m getting there.” She swiveled a little so they were facing each other a little more directly. “I don’t know who the group of people were, and I have no idea why they were fighting or why someone was ready with water to throw at us, but after that I decided that I wasn’t going to work. I was to frazzled to anyway, but walking back to my apartment, I got attacked again, but this time by a group of high school students. They were promoting their play I think because a girl dressed up as Tinkerbell came up to me and threw a huge wad of sparkles in the air and it stuck. All over.”

“Well, I have no words for you. That is the craziest story I have ever heard.” He leaned back with a smirk on his face. She knew he was going to hold this over her head for forever. “Are you sure you didn’t just make it up?”

“Why would I make up a story like that?” She knew she shouldn’t have told him.

“Because you are all about the dramatics,” he laughed, “and that kind of stuff never happens, much less within a few minutes of each other. It is just a crazy story. That’s all.”

“Well I hope you enjoyed it.”

Leave a Reply

