2 a.m.

Everyone always says that nothing good happens after 2 in the morning. Today I would have to agree with them.

I was standing in the middle of the street with my best friend that morning thinking everything was great. We had an amazing evening with friends, wandered the city taking in the sights and sounds. At about 1:45 we decided to call it a night. that’s when everything went wrong.

The city went dark . It was like nothing I had ever experienced before. We saw the blackout coming from a few blocks away. The streets were going dark one right after another slowly creeping towards us. Ready to overtake the light yellow glow from the city lights above us.

“What’s happening?” Susan was panicking next to me, and I wasn’t to far behind.

“I don’t know. Let’s just stay calm and maybe get out of the middle of the street.”

I grabbed her by the arm and dragged her to the closest sidewalk. As we were stepping onto the raised ledge, darkness surrounded us followed by the silence of the city. With no power, nothing was running. No buzz from the lights. No vibration from the different generators. All that could be heard was the wind blowing past our ears.

“What do we do now Ally?” Susan whispered in my ear afraid that anything louder would cause the world to break in half.

I pulled out my phone and looked at my service, which was none. With no power, of course there wouldn’t be any service towers.

“Well, we are about 26 blocks from my place and about 43 from yours. We could start heading towards mine since it is closer. Unless you had another plan.”

Susan, with panic in her eyes, shifted from one foot to the other.

“What do you think is happening? Why is there a blackout?” I could see the fear all over her face in the moonlight.

The one benefit of a citywide blackout was being able to see the stars. Living in the heart of the city my whole life, I rarely got a chance to gaze up at the night sky and see anything, but tonight was a perfect night for it. Not a cloud in the sky. The stars lighting up the heavens with such beauty and grace.

“I think we should get moving.” I said as I pulled Susan with me. “Who knows what is going to happen next.”

Leave a Reply

