Selective Secrets

“I thought you said we were safe here!” Sam whipped her head around to yell at me then quickly peeking around the curtain covering the window.

“No, I said we were safer, not safe. And I never said this would work.” I walked over to the metal door and slammed the lock down. “Plus I didn’t hear you coming up with any ideas.” I returned to the window Sam was still peeking out.

We shared an agitated glance, then slid down till we were both sitting on the concrete floor.

“I knew we should have stayed on the beach today. This wouldn’t have happened if you weren’t so insitent on getting that book. We could have been enjoying the sunset right now.” Sam pulled out her phone and jabbed at the screen. “My battery is dead. Does your phone work?”

“I left it at the shop. I forgot it in the heat of the moment.” I knew she was going to hate me for this.

“What?! Are you kidding me?! You just forgot your phone.”

Yep she was mad.

“You know what, I might just leave you in here and let them deal with you. It’s you they want anyway.”

“We don’t know that for sure. It could be you they’re after.” I knew that wasn’t helping the situation, but I was tired of being attacked by her.

“Me? You think they’re after me? What have I ever done that would send them after me? You’re the one with a record.”

“Hey that record isn’t my fault and you know it!” I couldn’t believe that she was throwing that at me. After all the years that we had been friends never once did she ever bring that up. I knew she was really freaking out.

I took a breath and assessed the situation. One way or another, I knew I would make it out. Sam on the other hand was a toss up, but I knew I would try my best to get her out to. This was my fault. She didn’t know it yet, but there was more to the story than I had let on. Now she was going to find out for herself how right she was.

Leave a Reply

