Travelers

After running for so long, to be sitting still was the greatest feeling.

“Good job out there today kid. You made us all proud.”

“Thanks coach. I owe it all to you.” I stood up and shook his hand.

“Well, that’s partly true, but you’re the one who actually did it.” He smirked. “That’s more than I have ever done.”

“Well don’t beat yourself up to hard about it.” I threw back, “I’ll still give you some credit.”

Mr. Brekew gave me a good pat on the shoulder and walked back toward the locker room.

“Don’t for get to drink water Cal.” He said as he walked away.

I looked down at the card I was holding in my hand. The glare from the sun glistened off of the glass. I rubbed my fingers over the rough etching. My name stood out from the clear smooth surface.

I couldn’t believe it. After ten years, I finally made it. I was going to be a traveler.

There were only two teams so far. The first one was sent out eight years ago. The last one was four years ago. Now it was my turn.

I didn’t know who else would be on my team. I just knew that I would be one of them. This was finally my chance to explore.

I was never a home body. I had the travel bug something fierce, much to my parent’s disappointment. They always pictured me growing up here, finding someone, getting married, and moving in next door so we could all continue to be one big family. Don’t get me wrong, there is nothing wrong with that, but that’s just never how I saw myself in the future. I knew I wanted to go out and see the world. To explore and travel to new and exciting places. Now I got that chance. I was given the ultimate travel ticket. I was going to travel the Universe.

Leave a Reply

