Sunset

I watched as the sun set, soaking in the last rays of light before the warm globe disappeared below the treeline. I tucked my knees closer to me trying to keep in the warmth.

I looked at the ground from my perch. It was white with snow. Leaning back against the tree I was sitting in, I tried to relax and not overthink about what the next day would bring. Trying to just live in the moment and forget about the worries of tomorrow.

As I was lost in my thoughts, footsteps from below dragged me back to reality.

“Liza are you ever going to come down from there?”

I looked down at my brother. He was holding a thermos. Likely filled with hot chocolate.

“Oh you know me. I could stay up here forever.” I smiled down at him.

“Well, I will make you a deal. Come down and have some hot chocolate, and then you can climb back up to your nest like a mouse.”

“Oh Tommy. You’re so funny.” I mocked as I climbed down and landed on the white ground below.

He handed me a mug and filled it with the warm liquid.

As we stood there, drinking our hot chocolate, I could tell he wanted to say something. He was thoughtfully staring at the swirls he was making in his cup.

“Alright. Spit it out. I know you want to say something.” I took in a breath preparing myself for a classic big brother speech.

“Don’t trip.” He smirked.

“Very funny.” I kicked some snow his direction. He tried to dodge and spilled a little bit of his drink.

“Now look what you made me do.”

“I think you’ll get over it.” We both laughed.

“Seriously, though, you’re going to do great. Just don’t overthink it, and speak from the heart. It will all be over before you know it.”

“I hope so.” I didn’t really believe him. “I don’t know why they chose me to be the speaker. I’m not very good at it.”

“Well that’s what you think. Apparently they see something in you that you don’t see yourself.”

I finished off my drink and rinsed it out with snow.

“Well I suppose I will have to take your word for it.”

We both headed back into the house. I dreaded what tomorrow would bring.

Leave a Reply

