Power of One

Does a single raindrop really have the power to raise the ocean? Can a single grain of sand actually tip a scale? These are things that some may feel are good ways to show the power of a single person. The power a single idea can have, but what they don’t share is how devastating that single idea can turn out to be. You may raise the ocean, but it will never be enough to make a difference. Man’s input and power on the world is so pathetic. Yet we can’t seem to stop believing differently.

Leaning over the rail of the balcony, I looked down at the 30 foot drop to the sidewalk below. I was pondering over the last few weeks and just wondering how I ended up here. I remembered everything crystal clear, yet it was still a blurry mess.

I heard a knock on the door behind me.

“Room service.”

After a pause, I walked over and opened the door. A young man, no more than 16 greeted me and handed my lunch through the door. I thanked him and gave him a few dollars for a tip, and quickly shut the door.

I lightly tossed the tray onto the desk and went back to the balcony.

“Where are you.” I asked no one in particular. “Where are you….” I knew this wasn’t a good sign.

I walked back into the room and began to pace around when the phone rang. I ran over and quickly picked up the handset, causing the phone to slip off of the desk and yank the handset out of my hand. I sprang over to where it crashed onto the ground and grabbed the handset with one hand, pulling the phone base off of the floor with my other.

“Hello?” I asked nervously as I placed the phone back onto the desk where it had been previously sitting.

“Hello. You have one new voicemail. Press one to hear your message now.” I listened to the automated voice trail off a few other options, but quickly jabbed the number one on the phone. I heard a beep, then I heard his voice.

“I’m sorry. I didn’t want it to be like this, but I couldn’t see any other way. Please don’t come after me. Let it go. Move on and be happy. Know that there was nothing you could have done.” He paused for a moment, and I could hear the desperation in his voice when he continued. “Please, please, promise me you will let this go. Promise me you will walk away.” I heard the phone go dead and dropped the handset. Everything I had done, everything I worked for, was gone. Nothing mattered. My life that I knew was over. I was a single feather being blown along in the wind, making no difference to anyone or anything.

Leave a Reply

