Deadline

Her aqua eyes glistened as she scanned the screen before her. She had been at it for hours now. Every half an hour or so you could hear her shift in her seat. Other than that, though, it was complete concentration.

I busted in her room, causing her to leap in the air. She directed her gaze at me. Her eyes were huge, like an animal you had just caught off guard.

“You should see your face!” I laughed. I sidestepped into her room and leaned against the wall.

“Oh my gosh. I hate you so much!” she yelled throwing a pillow at me.

I easily dodged the pillow and it bounced harmlessly against the wall.

“Oh come on. You know you love it.” I mocked.

“Whatever. I hate you.” She smirked as she went back to her computer.

“Whatcha working on?” I asked walking over. “Anything awesome?” I peered over her shoulder.

She had a video processing program opened on her laptop. I could see the glow of the computer screen reflecting off of her face.

“I have a deadline I have to meet. I’m scrambling here to get this done. And you’re not helping.” She swatted at my face.

“Oh come on. Just show me what you’ve got.”

“I don’t think you deserve to know now. Shame because it was actually pretty cool.” She gave me a passive look and went back to work.

“Well fine then. I won’t tell you the reason that I came over then.” I smiled and started backing up to the door. “Shame because this was pretty cool too. I’m just saying.” I reached the door and paused for a second.

“Well la di da. I didn’t want to know anyway.” I could tell this was a cover. “And anyways. It’s probably not as cool as my thing anyway.”

“Well I guess you’ll never know now.” I hummed.

I picked up the pillow and tossed it at her. It was a perfect hit. It bounced off of her face and onto her laptop, knocking it off of the desk.

“Oops!” I whispered. “I didn’t mean to hit your laptop. I am so sorry.” I tiptoed back over to her.

She looked rather annoyed.

“Well it’s a good thing I love you because otherwise, you’d be dead.” If looks could kill, she would have done me in right then and there.

She leaned over and picked up the laptop. It had harmlessly fell onto the carpet.

Leave a Reply

