Matter at Hand

“If you give me a minute,” I panted “I think I can make this worse.” I spun my head to look at the girl across the room.

“That sounds like a very bad plan to me.” She paced back and forth.

I was hunched over pulling at the key card panel. The wires were poking out in every direction.

“I just need to figure out which wire, or wires, lets us out.” I mistakenly touched an exposed wire and got a zap. I leaped to my feet and yelped.

“I told you this was a bad plan.” She walked over to look at what I had been working on. “Do you even know what you’re doing?” She questioned.

“Hey don’t touch anything.” I said pushing her back a little. “Getting zapped isn’t fun. Take it from me.” I hunched back over the panel and made sure to only touch the wires where they were covered.

“Well it doesn’t look like you know what you’re doing.” She scoffed. “Have you ever done this before?”

“Well no, but that’s the point. Come on Sasha. Would you rather just sit there doing nothing?”

Sighing, she slid down the opposite wall.

“I just don’t understand what you’re hoping to accomplish.” She rested her head against the wall and closed her eyes. “Wake me up when they come in and yell at you. I don’t want to miss that.”

I ignored her comment and kept touching the different wires together. One of these combinations had to make the door open. I saw it in movies all the time. Surely they couldn’t all be lying about things like this.

After a few more combinations, there was an alarm that went off.

“Now what did you do?” Sasha yelled jumping to her feet.

“I actually don’t think that was me.” I said staring at the mess of wires. “I wasn’t doing anything went the alarms started to go off.”

“Well you wanted to make things worse.” She clearly didn’t believe me.

Suddenly our door slid open, and in came a guy. I wouldn’t want to be on the wrong side of an argument with this guy. And hopefully we were not.

“Can I help you?” I asked nonchalantly.

“Really? That’s what you’re opening with?” Sasha questioned.

“I am here to get you guys out. If we could move, that would be great. Follow me.” As swiftly as he came in, he left the room.

I wasn’t going to stand around and wait for someone to come by and lock us back up. I followed him into the hallway. I heard Sasha right behind me.

“How did you know we were here.” I asked puzzled. “And why did you come to save us? I mean don’t get me wrong. I am so glad you did, but whats so special about us that someone noticed we were gone?” I knew there were more important things at this moment to be thinking about, but my curiosity always did get the better of me.

“Again, really?” Sasha whispered. “This is not the right time (name).”

The guy didn’t even seem to notice we were talking. How rude I thought. Here I am asking him a question, and he isn’t even listening.

“Fine.” I shot back at Sasha. “I’ll drop it for now.”

I looked back to the guy we were walking behind.

“So what do we call you?” I poked him in the shoulder to make sure he knew I was talking to him.

“Not now. We have to get out of here, then we can do all the talking you like, but for now can you zip it?”

I was not impressed by this guy. I shot Sasha a look and she nodded.

I kept my mouth shut after that, but the questions were still flying around in my head.

After weaving through hallways and dodging random people walking around, we made it to  a set of doors.

“Do you two remember how you got here?” He asked.

“No, we just woke up in that room.” Sasha answered.

“Well, I have some bad news for you then. I hope you’re not afraid of heights.”

“Why?” I was afraid of the answer.

Instead of answering my question with words he pulled off the backpack he had and opened it. Inside he pulled out three harnesses and three sets of rope.

“We have to scale down the side of a mountain.” He said it like he was telling me his favorite color.

“You’re joking right?” Sasha was pale “I don’t know how to climb a mountain!” She started to panic.

“Well you are technically scaling down. There isn’t any climbing involved. It is a lot easier than climbing up.” Again, he spoke like this was a completely normal thing that people did.

“Hold up. You’re telling me that we are on a mountain?” I was dumbfounded.

“Not exactly.” He paused.

I gave a slight sigh. Little did I know it was to soon.

“You’re in the side of a mountain.”

With that he opened the door, and all we could see was a small ledge covered in snow, followed by nothing but blue sky.

Leave a Reply

