Promise

At that moment I saw life leave her beautiful eyes, even if she wasn’t dead. She had just been pushed to far.

Any other day, and maybe she could have pushed past it, but today broke her.

Never had I seen someone so low and hopeless. I knew I should try and do something, but I feared I would only make it worse. I had a tendency to ramble when I was nervous and always said the wrong thing. This situation needed to be handled delicately and carefully. If there was any hope in bringing her back, it couldn’t be me helping her through this.

I was so thankful when Mel stepped forward. She didn’t even say anything at first. She sat there, holding her hand. Looking down the stream where the boat had been just moments before.

“I know this is hard Kell, but I am here for you. Joey is here for you. You’re not alone.” Mel shifted her position so she was angled more towards Kelly. “I know we can’t replace Phillip, but that doesn’t mean we don’t count any less.” She pulled Kelly to her and wrapped her in a hug.

Maybe I should have been the one speaking. Mel was taking the blunt approach. I didn’t know how this was going to turn out, but I hoped for the best.

“But what am I suppose to do now?” Kelly pulled away from the  looked longingly at Mel, almost like she was going to find the answer on her face.

“I don’t know Kell. But you’re not going to have to do it alone.” She stood up and pulled Kelly up with her. “Right Joey.” She said volunteering me.

“Yeah Kelly. We got your back. We aren’t going anywhere.” I promised.

Kelly swiveled her head to look at me.

“Don’t make promises you can’t keep Joey.” She spit at me. “That’s the last thing Phillip said. And now look where we’re at.” She finished the last part of that sentence in tears.

Mel gave me a dirty look and wrapped her arms back around Kelly, who was now a sobbing mess. I knew I wasn’t good at this stuff, but that couldn’t have gone any worse if I had tried. I fiddled with my hands feeling really uncomfortable now.

“I just meant that as long as we can be, we will be here for you.” I tried back peddling my last statement.

Kelly wiped away the tears streaming down her face.

“I’m sorry. I know. I just can’t take losing anyone else. I can’t handle any more.”

“We know Kell.” Mel soothed. “We know.”

Leave a Reply

