Jessica Alice

Some days I amaze myself. Other days I put my keys in the fridge. This was definitely a keys in the fridge kind of day. Nothing I did seemed to be going well.

As I ran down the empty hallway my shoes echoed a squeaky sound with every fall of my left foot. It was driving me crazy. I reached the end of the hall and took a right and ran right into another student. My books went flying and, unfortunately for me, his paint flew everywhere. I was covered in yellow paint.

“I am so sorry!” I stammered frantically wiping at the yellow now covering me. “I didn’t see you.”

“Yeah, I noticed.” The guy replied while picking up his brush and setting down the now empty paint container. “You came around that corner to fast to see anything.”

“I am running really late today.” I shrugged. I gave up on the yellow smearing my clothes and hands. I bent down to pick up my books. They probably got the worst of it. I gingerly picked up my Math book and angled it so the paint would drip onto the container now sitting on the ground. “Can’t seem to catch a break this week. I think this is the third day in a row I.” Pausing to pick up another book, the guy finished my sentence.

“Got covered in paint?” He joked.

“Funny.” I replied faking a laugh. “No, had my car break down on the way to school. It just so happens that my car doesn’t like rain. Or moisture. Or actually running for that matter.”

I picked up my last book and let the paint run off the edge. It was my Physics book. Mr. Grelby was not going to be happy when he saw this.

“It sounds like you need to get rid of that car and get something else.”

Having, for the most part, cleaned off all of my books, I looked up and saw this guy for the first time. He was your classic dreamy dude. The light brown hair that looked soft to the touch. He was about 5 feet 8 inches. Not to tall, and not to short.

I reached out a free hand.

“I’m Jessica” I introduced myself. “But everyone calls me Jess.”

“Don’t think I’m being a jerk, but I don’t think I want to shake your hand right now.” He scoffed.

I looked down at my yellow hand. It was glistening in the light.

“Oh right.” I blushed as I pulled my hand away.

“I don’t know how, but I somehow came out clean and, no offense, I want to stay that way.”

Figures. I get completely coated, and he doesn’t get a splatter on him. Such is my life.

Leave a Reply

