Metal and Porcelain

The scrapping of metal on porcelain was the only thing you could hear in the room, followed by the crunching of cereal.

The man sitting in the opposite corner of the room was heavy set with a full beard that now had milk running down it. He was reading the paper, the same one he had been reading all day.

In my head, I was thinking of an escape plan. I slyly looked around for a distraction of some sort. I didn’t want to do any damage, I just wanted to get away. I had been locked up in this room for to long. I craved freedom. To not be behind lock and key. The last year had been terrible. That’s when everything started. That’s when my world was flipped upside down. Like a jigsaw puzzle you shake good and hard before opening the box, that was my life now. My pieces were all still there, just scattered and separated; searching for their match. Waiting to be put back together.

I continued to sit there, pretending to not be thinking anything. I don’t know if that is even possible, but there I was, trying to do it.

“What are you doing?” The man questioned as my foot started to unconsciously jiggle up and down. My dang foot just gave me away.

“I have to pee.” I lied. “Really bad.” I tried to play the part by putting on a desperate face.

“Well you’ll just have to wait then.” The man scoffed going back to his paper and slurping down the remains of his breakfast.

“You don’t understand.” I pleaded. “It’s urgent!”

He gave me a once over without lifting his head.

“Fine.” He sighed. “But don’t get any wise ideas.”

I laughed to myself. This whole process was a wise idea.

I stood up and tried to act natural as I headed to the door. My heart was pounding its way out of my chest.

Cereal guy shook his head as he unlocked the door. “I don’t know why, but I have a bad feeling about this.” He looked at me before opening the door.

“Why?” I tried giving him a puppy dog look. I don’t know if I was succeeding or not, but either way, I saw freedom through the crack in the door, and it continued to grow.

I saw two more guys sitting in the hallway. They looked extremely bored, but hopefully soon I would change that for them.

I followed cereal guy down the hall and around the corner to another room.

“Like I said before, don’t get any wise ideas. If you’re not done in ten minutes, we are coming in. This is your only warning.” The guy didn’t look amused.

I wondered to myself as I went in if this was the sort of job he wanted to find, or if it found him. Either way, I don’t think I would want to be in his line of work.

I had yet to be in here, but I was hoping for a window, or maybe a second door. Unfortunately, there was neither. My plan went from slightly optimistic, to nonexistent.

I thought back over the walk here. There were a few doors and windows along the way. I know there was a window in my room, but there was also the cereal eating goon.  If I could get him to leave for a minute, or turn his back, or something, maybe that would be enough time to get out.

Leave a Reply

